Trail Blazer

A break from the funny today, although, I promise it’ll be back on Friday!

A few weeks ago I wrote this post, which was a tribute to my grandmother who died on Easter.

We didn’t have a funeral or service, but sent communications to people who knew and loved her that she had passed. She was cremated and her ashes scattered, so there’s no official place to visit. But my mom wanted a remembrance, so she mounted a little fairy statue on one of the grand cypress trees that stands on the property that’s been in my family for 40 years. And to further add tribute in the little grove of wondrous trees, my family – all five of us – made hanging crystal sun-catchers.

Here is mine:

Here is my husband’s:

Here is the girl’s:

Our oldest’s was so high in the branches, it wasn’t quite visible in the photo.

But here is my younger son’s:

They looked so pretty hanging there under the branches, reflecting the occasional sunbeam.

And of course it made me remember my grandmother. And what I thought about while I was up on a ladder tying my little sun-catcher to the cypress branch, was about how much of what I get to be, I get to be because she gave me the gift of limitless horizons. She was so far ahead of her time in education, science, tolerance…and the idea that I can do anything I want, be anything I want, move any direction my brain and my feet choose to take me came from her. She had it, she gave it to my mother, and then both of them gave it to me.

I only really saw the truth of that recently, that she was my own personal trailblazer. That path is easier for me because she walked it first.

So today I wonder, who blazed your trails for you? I would love to hear.

This post happily linked to “Inspired By…” at The Inspired Room.

10 comments

  1. What a beautiful post Lori. I will have to think about this today. Both my grandmother’s blazed trails for me, but in very different ways. One was extremely complex and I am still baffled by how contrary she was and my still living Grandma teaches me through the simple truth’s she lives by. Two polar opposites who I embody today. I love the light catchers. What a great way to pay tribute to your trailblazer.
    Dana

  2. Awww this is such a touching and beautiful post. What a blessing she was in your life and the life of all she came across. I love that the light reflecting is so symbolic of the light she showed throughout her life.

    I’d have to say my mom has always been proof to me that you can do anything you put your mind and heart to. She’s always been extremely hardworking and she’ll be the first to listen to your point of view before making up her mind.

    It’s so wonderful to have such strong women as trailblazers.

    ~melody~

    1. She was amazing, but it was really only recently that I truly understood the depth of it.

      Your mom sounds pretty wonderful, too.

      And it is wonderful!

  3. Sorry about the loss of your grandmother.

    The crystal sun catchers are beautiful. What a wonderful idea.

    I stopped over from I am Mommy. You are a lovely blogger!

  4. This post makes me give thought to who might be the trailblazer for me. My parents set the example, gave me the opportunities and supported me 100 percent so I like to think it was them.

    Those sun catchers are beautiful both in appearance and for what they represent; a very simple but touching tribute. Thanks for sharing it.

    1. Thank you, kind lady.

      Grandma was all about the pretty and celebratory. She’d have been annoyed with us if we hadn’t found a fun way to remember her.

Leave a Reply

