The Mother of All Martha Points

That would be my mother of course.

This is the two of us when I was five maybe? Look at those legs. 

I  believe I am a fairy princess. The next year I was Miss America. Even back then I had a thing for sceptres and tiaras.

My favorite recent Mom story was this past Thanksgiving when she called in the morning and asked if I could stop and pick up a loaf of French bread for dinner, she wasn’t sure she had enough. “Sure,” say I.

Then at the store nearest her house I ran into my brother picking up….French bread.

“Did Mom ask you to do that?” I queried.

“Uh huh.”

“Okay…”

So my question is, Which one of us didn’t she trust?

I asked. She skillfully deflected. She’s tricky like that.

I think this may be my favorite picture of the two of us of all time.

Taken, appropriately enough, on my wedding day.

(For the record, I can’t breathe in that dress, but oxygen’s overrated. Also, that piece of paper on the floor? Those were my weddings vows that I’d just printed out to give to the officiant. Which he then forgot to bring with him.)

Thank you Mom, for my sense of humor and determination. For my agile brain and limber joints. I don’t know who to blame for my nose but I put responsibility for this chin directly on you.

I love you. Happy Mother’s Day.

10 comments

  1. I love that photo….I wish I were the type of mom who could rock a short skirt while getting my child’s costume ready.

    All photos from 1990 and before are perfect. After 1990 it all went down hill.

  2. Dude, is it totally inappropriate to say that your Mom was hot? I can say with 100% assurance that I have never looked that good while outfitting people in fairy princess costumes. Thanks for posting such a lovely note to your Mom. No doubt she is an amazing woman. It takes one to raise one, you know ;)

    1. Aww. : )

      Yep, she was pretty amazing. And I knew she was hot even when I was little. I had one of the “pretty moms.” I think at best my kids get to say that they have one of the “punctual moms.” Sometimes.

    1. Yeah! Who needs it!

      And thank you…I love that picture, although it totally messes up my self-esteem for every other day of my life, but hey…it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

