And it’s Potluck Day!

Ok, so you all understand by now that this does not involve actual food. Unless you happen to have some sitting by your computer, in which case the big questions are, “Does it have chocolate and how will you be getting it to me?”

The Potluck is TexasHolly’s creation. You know her, over at June Cleaver Nirvana? So she does these happy little internet potluck parties every Monday. So now’s the time!

First Up:

This got a little odd this week. “Negative impacts of dishwashers,” brought people to visit me, and I don’t know why. I am typically pretty positive about dishwashers, as long as the dishwasher in question is not me. “Candace Olson’s handwriting,” also directed people here. Is something wrong with Candace Olson’s handwriting? Does she need a decorating-addicted speech therapist for it? That’s pretty uncommon. And finally, Google thought people searching for a “permanent mouth guard” needed to stop by. I wish people who got here with these strings would leave comments telling me if they found what they were looking for. It’d be nice to know.

This feature will once again be brought to you in pictures.

We heard the crash. We both yelled “NIMBUS!!” only for Nimbus to pop his head up from where he was snoozing in a pile of clean laundry on the bed. Nope, the perpetrator of this charming little piece of breakage was the quiet, tiny, delicate cat. Proof that Evil can come in small packages.

Although no one specifically requested points this week, there were a few efforts tossed out in the comments that were really deserving. C’mon people, toot your own horn! You deserve points, ask for ’em! But this week I am honoring people who confessed to also having list obsessions. So for admitting to being just as dysfunctional as I am, I hereby award +4 Martha Points each to: Gina @ 3 Ring Cottage, Katie @ Katies Dailies, Mrs. D @ Mrs. D Menopause Mom’s Blog, and Molly @ Gemini’s Dream. Thank you all, ladies, for helping normalize what is clearly irrational behavior.

Triathlon Training: I wish I had better things to share here. I was so fried from the trip that I did not make it to the gym a single time this week. And I haven’t actually been really consistent since before catching diptheria and typhoid at Easter. So this means that I’m going to have to push REALLY hard over the  next few months. So expect rambling posts and shots of me in mis-matched spandex coming soon to a blog near you.

  • Cake.
  • Goldfish crackers.
  • Cake.
  • Chardonnay.
  • Cake.

Ok, I think that’s about it for this week. Please don’t trip on the watermelon rinds.

I love WP. I don’t so much love that hosted WP can’t cope with embedded javascript. So Hop back over to Holly’s to carry on with the Potluck!

25 comments

  1. WOO HOO! Never thought being an overly compulsive list maker would earn me GOOD things! May I show my family this to prove that I don’t need therapy (just a new yellow legal pad, a white board and a day planner so I can copy the same list onto all three things)?

  2. Thanks for the points. I need all the help I can get. Hope your kitty didn’t get any glass in his/her little paws. That’s some major shattered glass!
    Everytime you mention the affliction’s newest synonym from Easter, I just bust a gut laughing.

    1. The cats seem to be indestructable. No matter WHAT they break, they are always (thankfully) fine.

      And I’m not sure how much longer I can get mileage out of The Illness, but I’m going to draw it out as long as I can.

    1. Nice things to say to one’s dad I think is better than “permanent mouthguards.”

      But don’t they think about us being able to sleep at night? Yeesh…

  3. Love the evil cat pictures! I think (based on those pictures) that you might want to give me points for this post and the comments that followed (http://www.homemakerspensieve.com/2010/05/17/treasure/). I’m pretty sure you’ll recognize at least two reasons why I deserve points, but I’ll let you discover them. (Sorry for posting a link in your comments, I know it’s kind of tacky, but it would’ve been really long to explain it.
    Also, I found you through another blog…wish I could remember which one…minus points for that, I bet.

    1. Yes, that is hysterical! And I would probably avoid knitting ANYTHING from the hair of my cats (despite the copious raw material they give me) because I think I would exude an aura that is potentially dangerous.

    1. Vampires? Wow…I don’t get any of the undead looking for things on my blog. And I’ve even mentioned zombies a bunch of times!

      Is there something you’re not telling us??

  4. Hi there – I found you from Sits and since we have the same first name I had to pop over because I’m narcississtic (and too lazy to see how to actually spell that) like that. I love the Martha points thing! I’m a house futzer too and I think you’re hilarious. But I couldn’t figure out how to “follow” you and the RSS feed didn’t seem to be working. Unless it’s just me, which, maybe. Anyhoo, I’ll check back and thanks for the laughs this morning!

    P.S. just saw the little check box for “notify me of new posts” Yay!

    1. I’m so glad you figured it out, because it’s probably beyond my scope to fix!

      But I’m glad to make you laugh! To date, no one was confessed to tears or breaking things after reading my blog. I hope to keep that up.

  5. I do the same thing with my cats. Whenever something shatters, thumps or rips, I immediately yell, “TEVA!!!!” But every once in a great while, it’s her angelic sister Isabel who has gone to the dark side.

    1. Nimbus gets blamed for a lot of crap that may be Topaz’ fault, but since he attacks her ALL THE TIME, he’s pretty much stuck with the blame for being a bully. That’s what you get when you make your little “sister” scream.

  6. I am SO LATE to your potluck. I know there will be major point deduction for that.

    I am actually very envious of your Google search term randomness this week…Candace Olsen? I am a fan! Dishwashers? I am a fan! Permanent mouth guard? Wha?

    OMG on the cat chaos.

    Thank GOD you didn’t burn cake.

Leave a Reply

