Half-a-Hundred

Fifty years ago today a person was born into the world.

A person of deep humor and deep sensitivity.

A person with a massive potential for love and a brilliant mind.

I mentioned it was fifty years ago, right? (This age difference didn’t seem quite such a big deal with I was 37 and he was 44.)

A person who did not save my life, I had my life well in hand, but who clearly saved my heart.

So I wish my beloved husband Happy Birthday today. The world, and my life,  are better places because you are in it.

56 comments

  1. Thank you my beloved wife. You saved my heart as well, and so much more. My life, and those of my children, became infinitely better the day you entered our world. I love you with every ounce of my being.

  2. Aw…this is just so heart warming. Happy Birthday to your hubby and I wish you both many more years of happiness. Glad that true love does happen to others out there.

  3. My husband and I are 8 years apart and when turned 40 I thought “Good God, I married an old man.”
    What a loving tribute. I bet your party was spectacular.

    1. Spectacular indeed! Everyone had a great time, thanks to my incredible wife. Older men are a blessing – take it from one who….. is.

    1. Aww shucks. I don’t really think I’m that special. I think mostly I just blinded her with the glare off my scalp and left her dazed and off balance.

    1. Thank you. And I say embrace your age! Own it! Age is a state of mind anyway. I feel pretty young these days. Lori gave me a second life, so in some ways, I’m just a spring chicken.

    1. It was the most perfect day of my life. And my 50th birthday was another perfect day, thanks to my wonderful, beautiful wife.

    1. Thank you so much. The best of men? Not sure I’m the best. Strike that – certain I’m not the best. But apparently good enough, which is good enough for me!

  4. Ok, I’m totally late to the party again. Which as anyone who knows me will tell you is usual. *sigh*

    First? Happy (late) Birthday to Himself. :)

    Second? What an absolutely beautiful wedding picture. May I say, my dear, that you look absolutely gorgeous!

    1. Thanks for the birthday greetings. Since I’m a day late thanking everyone, you can consider yourself right on time.

      And I am certain you were NOT addressing me with your comment about the wedding photo! Yes, she looks gorgeous. Stunning, I’d say! She still knocks me off my feet.

Leave a Reply

