The Night Before Christmas – Bloggy Style

Twas the night before Christmas and all round the blog
The writers were sleepy and full of the nog.
The posts were all sitting on WordPress with care
In hopes that an audience soon would be there.

The smartphones were charging a-plugged in the wall by bed
With visions of dataplans dancing ‘round each husband’s head.
With me in my sleepshirt, Himself in sweat pants
You sure couldn’t say we were dressed for romance.

When out of the speakers there came such a clatter
I sprang to my desk to see what was the matter
Away to the keyboard I flew like a flash
Clicked open my email before it could crash!

When what to my wondering eyes should appear
But a ton of replies from the big blogosphere.
With a new wave of page views coming in from Digg
And I knew right away I had hit something big.

More rapid than Twitter the readers they came.
I tabbed through my favorites in search of my name.
Not on P-Dub, The Bloggess, not Dooce or on BlogHer.
Not SITS, Technorati and not Her Bad Mother.

From the pages of Google and my Facebook wall
I could not find the source of this traffic at all.
And then in a twinkling I knew that each click
Must be my Christmas gift, from that old dude St. Nick.

I heard not a word, just saw signs of his work.
He boosted my stats without wisecrack or smirk.
Then clicking the mouse with a touch of my hand
I sent a big thank you out into Blog-land.

I Tweeted to friends, to my tribe gave a whistle
And they flocked to my page with the speed of a missile.
We called out to the wave ‘ere it vanished from sight
“Happy Blogging to all and to all….good night!”

29 comments

  1. That’s awesome, I never thought to ask Santa for traffic and comments. I guess I need to go sit on his lap and make last minute requests.

  2. You’re so cute. I had 1/2 a post ready that was a similar take on the famous poem. And then I got tired :)

    You did it better anyway! Happy Christmas to you, himself and the whole crew!

Leave a Reply

