Practice makes…umm…I dunno. Pick a word.

So, with stardom for my brilliant illustrated posts lurking somewhere close by, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to keep practicing.

Because you know I have all the tools now.

I am destined for greatness.

And if this illustrated blogger thing doesn’t work out, you know what else I have? A can of spray-paint and a bunch of virgin ceiling.

But one magnum opus at a time.

So with stylus in hand and inspiration banging on the door of the bathroom, I opened a fresh file.

So now I’m feeling pretty confident so I decide to try An Impressive Landscape.

And this would be way impressive indeed.

If, when I saved it, I hadn’t called the file “Ocean.”

Maybe I should stick with speech therapy.

32 comments

  1. You can at least draw. When I draw, even my stick figures are bad. People wonder if I have some kind of physical abnormality that makes my drawings look similar to Picasso only not so well done!

  2. I was thinking about you while getting ready for bed last night.

    I thought “hmmm…I wonder if Lori could make a picture of me in a wrestling singlet.”

    Now I’m afraid to ask. (That’s not true, I’m still asking)

  3. In thirty years, I totally want a horn. And a crappy logo.

    But I hope to never run into a cat-faced platypus with an unfortunate leg situation.

    That’s where I draw the line.

    1. It was supposed to be a cat sleeping with its feet tucked under it. Except…it SO didn’t end up looking like that. Stuff of nightmares. I tell ya.

  4. I don’t know…that flower looks dangerously close to any flower in my care. I’d say you’re right on target, scalp conditions and zipper volcanoes aside.

  5. Shhhhh the bee is only disguised as a fly! It is a new idea of the Queen’s to keep the workers from the other hives from knowing where the good flowers are.

    It also has to be said that in 30 years your shoulder apparently will start having moments of see-thru-ness.

  6. I am impressed. I am certain they are looking for graphic illustrators at W magazine. You should just shoot them over this post in lieu of a resume. k?

  7. Oh, but can you draw a platypus-faced cat?

    I love your drawings, my dear…they always bring a smile to my face and a bit of awe and wonder at the artistry of it all.

    I would SO let you paint my white popcorn ceiling with your masterpiece.

  8. Destined for greatness? Clearly, you’ve already reached that milestone.

    I am also wondering if I can Photoshop me some Tammy Faye eyelashes like that. And maybe bigger boobs while I’m at it.

Leave a Reply

